Open To Change?

I heard someone say one time that they had “a deathgrip on their ideals and beliefs”. I understand that they were trying to say how deeply the believed in something and that they could never be persuaded to see it differently, but the irony of the statement has always made me think. For if someone has a deathgrip on something, it usually means at least a couple of things. One that maybe they are afraid of change and also that with a deathgrip they will likely kill it !

So when do we examine our ideals and beliefs? I tend to see them as gardens that have to be maintained almost constantly. Easier to say than to do and I have been a “go down with the ship” kind of guy plenty of times. I did realize in myself that if my ideals and beliefs caused division and exclusion that they needed to be re examined. That if I was so sure I was right that I didn’t have the space to engage in dialog, then I needed to re-examine. I’ve been wrong so many times that you’d think it would be easy, but it isn’t. I think it is tough for us as a people, to be naturally inclusive. It seems that it has to be an intentional practice. Does love have a beginning or end?

We all share this earth. We are all brothers and sisters of the same Creation. I really believe that there are many, many people out there yearning for dialog; longing for peace in their world, their country, their community, their homes and especially within themselves. I am one of them. I welcome comments and reflections. Where do you find yourself in the midst of holding to your beliefs in this ever-changing world of politics, racism, religion, exclusion, love and longing?

Peace to you my friends !

5 thoughts on “Open To Change?

  1. A friend shared your site with me and what you have posted was so in line with recent discussions we’d been having. It was just what I needed to have affirmed. Thank you!

  2. Glenn I want to thank you for all that you have and continue to send me, You describe a lot of the things that I see as well as fear in my life, and like you said I to have been wrong so many times, but I can say this thay I have a very rue friend who live in Nasville that send me words that has and will change the way one’s mind works. I can only hope that you will continue to write and and hear the voice that gives you these thoughts and words will continue to share them with all the people, as for me you are a great insperation and I do Praise Our Creator for bringing you as well as your family into my life……….Thank You will

Leave a Reply

