To Do Or Not To Do

Pardon me while I crack the door a little to shine a light on a part of life that I struggle with from time to time. Doing. Being motivated to do isn’t always easy for me. Sometmes it’s downright hard. I can drift into a funk and not know I’m headed there. Once I am there, I sure know it and it’s hard to dig out of. It’s not like a bad mood, it’s more like moving in slow motion.

It’s not that I can’t think of things to do. There’s always plenty of household chores to do (yuk). My truck always needs a bath (whatever). I could exercise (right). I think it’s sometimes attached to the weather and that ties to my creativity or in these cases the lack of. I could write a song, work on some dreamcatchers, read, or a host of other things that are good for my soul.

When I woke up this morning, it was 48 degrees. That’s just too damn cold for Nashville in October ! So I had the day off, home alone, and it was cold ! I did manage to pull off a few things, some accomplishments, but I feel like I blew the day. As I get older, I have that sense of mortality, and I hear too many stories that remind me that I’m not promised anything, much less another day. I guess it’s that tension between not wanting to waste a day and being comfortable just hanging out.

Maybe I need a more hectic life to make me appreciate the quietness of a day doing nothing. I don’t really believe that and it’s just not my way of living. I want to make the moments count more. Do you ever have those days? Do you sense mortality and the understanding that time is always ticking?

By tomorrow it will be 70 and sunny here. I plan to be on the water in some fashion. I hope to be more aware and I hope to grasp the thought that being busy isn’t always productive. Sometimes folks are just running in circles. I can’t base my journey on anyone else’s. I have my own walk here and must be busy about finding and holding onto the balance.

I hope you have a good day, more moments where you are really connected to the moment, and that you hope the same for me.

2 thoughts on “To Do Or Not To Do

  1. Thanks Glenn, I dig your words. I too, feel like ‘slow motion’ at times. My thoughts move quicker but the action on those ideas seem to move slow.
    Although the words of our friend Worrell “carpe ‘EVERY’ diem” and “be industrious” doesn’t sound conducive to ‘slow motion’ or ‘hanging out’. I believe there is a time for the later. And your thoughts and reflextions can be industrious and you can seize everyday your thoughts, your hopes, your dreams….while hangin’ out in slow motion.

    Thanks, again. I look forward to the next.
    Peace,
    Pablo

  2. I like this post… It really makes you thin. I have trouble just sitting and relaxing most of the time because I feel like I’m wasting time. Sometimes though I need to sit and meditate and reflect or just be with Randy or the kids. As I get older I think I feel like time is running out and I haven’t done all the things I wanted to do. That life somehow hasn’t turned out the way I wanted. It’s just that lack of contentment issue I have. I’ll just keep working at it I guess.

Leave a Reply

