Prayer

hasidic-jew-praying-750

So what is prayer anyway. Is it two way, one way, and if so who’s way? Our Pastor, Stan Mithcell, jokes a little by saying “Do we think we are telling God something He doesn’t already know?”

Mother Teresa, when asked about her prayer life she said that mostly she just listens. Wow that’s a mind blower for us non stop talking western world folks ! We are pretty uncomfortable with silence.

Here’s a couple of cool quotes on prayer.

Short prayers reach heaven faster – Proverb

Prayer is not an old womens idle amusement. Properly understood and applied, it is the most potent instrument of action- Mahatma Gandhi

Prayer should be the key of the day and the lock of the night – George Herbert, English Poet

The greatest prayer is patience- Buddhism

holy-prayerWay into my mid 20’s I just couldn’t go to sleep at night without praying. Sending up thoughts and wishes for everyone in my life and the ones that had passed on. I think more I didn’t want something bad to happen and then realize I had missed a night. Thankfully I no longer feel that way about prayer. I’ve heard it said that every breath is a prayer.

prayer114

I feel more connected when I’m quiet. When I really clear time away to be still. At least I feel better!. I’m not convinced that prayer is about feeling better, but I’ll take it for now. I think it’s just about being connected to all there is. All that’s around us, every sense awakened, and all that lives inside us too. It has surely changed through the years and I hope it will continue to change, evolve, grow, and connect. I just know if someone is trying then there is no wrong way.

CD-0020_PrayerForTheGreyLg

Buddha Praying Terracotta.JPG

2 thoughts on “Prayer

Leave a Reply

