The Weight of Words

Writer_Pens

Once in a while I am reminded about the weight of words. Sometimes I think they can be one of the most ineffective ways to communicate, especially the written word. A therapist friend told me that when he is speaking to someone he has the advantage of reading body language. If something doesn’t come out right he can do damage control right there. With the written word a person doesn’t have that luxury.

rom-words

Recently, I was exchanging emails with someone I haven’t seen or talked to in about 10 years. Our emails drifted into talking about spirituality. I carry some spiritual baggage for sure, especially about organized religion, and how man has used Gods name for his own agendas. As I am hopefully growing I am finding the beauty of the community of believers and being a part of that. Well long story short, I made a comment that offended him and things he believed in. To make matters worse I didn’t support my comment as to why I felt that way. At first I didn’t understand why he was offended but when I re read the sentence, with it standing alone and him not knowing my spiritual journey, I got it.

20070828BizReligion_dm_500

So with all of that, it’s really had me remembering the weight of words, and how if I’m not careful I can create great misunderstanding. Maybe that’s what it comes down to, I didn’t say what I really meant to say and ended up being misunderstood, and offending someone.

Whether or not he and I agreed or not isn’t the point, because I fight to be free to pursue my Creator in my way and he and everyone else is due the same. I respect all walks. The elders in my life were a great influence on my hunger for God although I didn’t walk their walk. I have sought Christ and I have found him, and that’s all I wish for everyman in his tongue and in his way.

interfaithBest

So I’m sure when I’m done writing this and posting it, I will re read it and want to edit it. I will feel like I still didn’t explain myself well enough. I will keep trying. Peace to you all as you journey along.

3 thoughts on “The Weight of Words

  1. I think you did a pretty good job reminding us all that the written word, in particular, and words in general carry a great deal of power. Words can be used to dramatically inspire, depart wisdom, comfort, clarify, and so much more. They can also be used to destroy, cause pain, wreak havoc, instigate and on and on. It all boils down to awareness, clarity and choices. If you can’t “say what you mean and mean what you say” in a way that’s respectful, it might be better to choose silence.

    But in my experience, silence is difficult. Ha, ha! So awareness and sensitivity are better options.

  2. Well put Glen….I need to remind myself all the time that my little spot on the Earth is NOT the only one or my way of doing things is NOT the only way to do things.

    I agree that we need to be diverse and accept others’ traditions, culture etc. and Lord knows I’m still learning and growing and change my views that were placed on me as a result of the ‘judgmental’ culture I was raised in. But I don’t want anyone to misconstrue my journey to embrace diversity as acceptance of anything other than truth which is:

    John 14:6 (New International Version) Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father (God) except through me.

  3. Within that scripture of John, my thoughts and wonders are that other cultures understand the same God but call him something different. More and more, I am believing that the only thing that makes sense to me most of the time, is that there is one creator but many peoples. I am believing cultures come to God, but maybe the terminology is different. It almost has to be. I like the scripture in Acts 17 24-26, which says

    24God that made the world and all things therein, seeing that he is Lord of heaven and earth, dwelleth not in temples made with hands;

    25Neither is worshipped with men’s hands, as though he needed any thing, seeing he giveth to all life, and breath, and all things;

    26And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation;

    King James Version (KJV)
    Public Domain
    It is the part of man being made from one drop of blood. We are all related. I have tended to find my spirituality thru tough roads and listening to my heart. I’m no Bible scholar, and sure don’t have all the answers, but that is my current leaning. Thanks for taking the time to comment. This is what I wish more would do with this blog. I love and admire others walks and beliefs. G

Leave a Reply

