Shine A Light: Bob Marley

When I was 20 years old, I discovered Reggae Music, more importantly, Bob Marley. I’m sure older folks along the Gulf Coast had long since heard Reggae, with the popularity of Eric Clapton doing Marley’s song “I Shot The Sheriff”, but I felt like I was right in the middle of it’s sweeping through our area. It hit me full force, like some kind of rogue wave that has left me spinning ever since. It is now such a part of the fabric of my soul, it’s inseparable from the outside to the inside. I can trace it’s sounds through  “Could You Be Loved” from a great beach band called “Avalon”, to a girl I liked but didn’t like me and she played the “Exodus” album all the time, to many mornings waking with “Natural Mystic” and “Kaya”. Now my wife, my family are all making new, wonderful memories together, and Bob Marley’s music is always a vital thread in our fabric.

It sank so deep in my spirit that I look upon it as one of the finest gifts in my life. My children are all lovers of music and naturally we have varying tastes. There’s a few that we all dig, but probably the one that we all share the deepest is Bob Marley’s Music. That pleases me deep down that they will take this gentle spirits music into their children’s lives one day.

It’s kind of a bummer that when most folks think of Marley they think of weed. “Oh Marley is cool man, lets smoke some”. If they only knew his life was totally dedicated to God and his spiritual beliefs, and weed was just part of that. His music was their spiritual form. Bob Marley’s earthly life was sadly cut short in 1981 to cancer, but if anyone’s spirit has lived on to touch millions in a uniting, loving, peaceful way, then it’s the spirit of Nesta Robert Marley. It’s pretty damn hard to have a bad day when you’re listening to Bob Marley.

Whenever my family is in a tailspin and things aren’t going they way we think they should, we remind each other of the lyric in “Three Little Birds”, “Don’t you worry, about a thing, ’cause every little thing, is gonna be alright”. One way or another, sooner or later, it usually is.

Leave a Reply

