A Plug For The Pod

On the technological side of life, I am the poster boy for “the last one to know”. But maybe I find things when I’m supposed to find them. My latest find has been Podcasts. I download them for road trips and I have found some really interesting podcasts. They have them on everything from faith to comedy. News to human interest stories.

I recently listened to one called “This I Believe”. The episode featured Boston native, cartoonist, WWII vet, and essayist, John Davis Drummey. He spoke of the value of community. The community of people. He seems to have been a man that used everyday to better himself. To grow, painful as it is, but to reach, grow and learn.

There were two sentences that struck me and ones I may never quite let go of. The first one is “Some of my closest friends are people that at first I was hesitant to meet.”. Don’t most of us gravitate to people that share our interests. Our beliefs, our politics. The second sentence is “The more people you understand, the more you understand God”. Wow..There’s two thoughts to chew on for a while. I may need to the rest of my days to work on those.

So you may already have tons of great inspiring podcasts on your ipod, but if you don’t, man it is well worth it. Most are free and the internal value is invaluable. Go get ya some. If you have ones you like, please leave a comment. Pass it along.

Happy Listening !!

Leave a Reply

