Shine A Light: Buck Jones

Three years ago I arrived home to a house full of friends. It was ST. Patricks Day and we were having a party. I wasn’t home long, cracking open a cold Shiner beer when my phone rang. It was my friend Milan Miller. The odd thing that struck me right off is that Milan always calls my cell, not my house phone. That day my house phone rang.

Milan was calling about our mutual friend and upcoming Country Music Artist, Buck Jones. It wasn’t 5 seconds into the conversation that the news hit me and my stomach just literally sank. Buck had been tragically killed. Damn.

After gaining my ability to speak, I began pacing. I was hearing the clatter and chatter of a party in the background, but at the same time my heart was sinking. Milan recounted what he knew so far. On the way to a gig, Buck had car trouble on the Interstate just outside of Dallas. While walking along a service road, he was struck from behind by a drunk driver. The conversation didn’t last too long. Milan didn’t know what else to say and neither did I. Numbness was all I felt.

I had talked to Buck two days before he left. We had been writing together for over a year. He spent many a night at our supper table. The whole family loved Buck as did anyone who’d ever met him. If you had ever met someone that said he didn’t like Buck Jones, then you could say you’d met someone that had a very poor judgment of people. We had plans to write the day after he was to return to Nashville. I looked for the lights of his truck all evening, just not wanting to believe that this friend, this father, son and husband wasn’t going to be pulling up to the curb, dragging his old guitar case out and ambling, smiling up to my doorstep.

So what do you do with that.?Young man. Talented voice. Budding writer. Friend. Father. Son. Gone.

Here’s a lyric to a song that Milan and I wrote for Buck.

DARK DAY HERE

The hole you left has hit me hard- seems like it came out of the blue

Turned good dreams into memories- like a cheap shot somebody threw

I hope the rains come pourin’ down- ’cause that’s just how I feel

As I sit here starin’ thru the holes- of this lousy deal

It’s a dark day here- I’m lost and confused

It’s a dark day here- I’m hurtin’ and bruised

Wonderin’ if I’ll ever find a way or the strength to see this thing clear

It’s a dark day here, It’s a dark day here

I hope your leavin’ was easy- and you never looked back

That your new world is everything- that your old one ever lacked

It’s a dark day here- I’m lost and confused

It’s a dark day here- I’m hurtin’ and bruised

Wonderin’ if I’ll ever find a way or the strength to see this thing clear

It’s a dark day here- It’s a dark day here

glenn simmons music/BMI


Leave a Reply

