Shine A Light: The Staple Singers

In a time where very few singers open their mouths and soul simply floods out, this is what happened every time Pops or Mavis Staple sang, or talked for that matter. I think there are some great singers out there today but I think a lot of time they over sing the lyric. Maybe they don’t believe in the lyric or pay close enough attention to it. Or maybe they think they are more important than the message.

There was something magical in the whole thing that the Staple Singers did. It was soulful voices of course and great songs with a meaning for the healing of mankind, and most of all folks that believed in that healing and that message. It only works to such a great height when all of those entities are present. Songs like “Reach Out and Touch a Hand”, “Respect Yourself” and “I’ll Take You There” are but just a few examples of their commitment to a better world, young and old, rich and poor, black, white, yellow or red as they used to say. We are all Gods children.

Oh . . . mmm
I know a place
Ain’t nobody cryin’
Ain’t nobody worried
Ain’t no smilin’ faces
Mmm, no no
Lyin’ to the races
Help me, come on, come on
Somebody, help me now
(I’ll take you there)
Help me, ya’all
(I’ll take you there)
Help me now
(I’ll take you there)
Oh!
(I’ll take you there)
Oh! Oh! Mercy!
(I’ll take you there)
Oh, let me take you there
(I’ll take you there)

Leave a Reply

