Towing The Party Line

Where do you go for truth these days? Your local priest, pastor or rabbi ? CNN or Fox? Do we say something is true when it reinforces they way we already think? When we are challenged do we turn away? Are we sold by the rhetoric ? It’s pretty confusing to me, especially if you approach things as if you might possibly be wrong about some things, that you might actually have something to learn. I don’t know if we see that happening too often. It sure seems like the world or at least the world on TV is in no short supply of opinions, and those opinions may very well be more important than digging deep for some truth.

There’s some things I believe are true. I believe most folks that co exist on this planet with us are looking for the same things out of life. They hope for family and love. They hope for safety, maybe watch a few good sunsets. Laugh. I guess I also believe in the good of people and that they will generally do the right thing. I believe most folk have the same desire to know why they are here, how they got here, and who God really is.

Politics gets more confusing the deeper you dig. It’s a horrible place to be most times. You want to know more, to be more informed, but when you do, you walk away more confused and generally pissed off that truth isn’t something they are interested in. That’s a lousy view for sure. Maybe it’s just a necessary evil. The wars and the young men and women that have died in them only to advance a political agenda disgusts me to no end. It seems very few have been just. I think of myself as a patriot and a warrior foe the real deal, when you are truly defending home, country and family. What would Jesus say about the history of wars? All of that killing, my God….

So I don’t really know what this post is about, where it came from and certainly where it goes. Sometimes it’s just good to get words out and hopefully shake up someone to where they respond and I will learn a new angle. See things from another side, and hopefully learn and be more humble and appreciative of others views.

Maybe truth isn’t so easy to define, maybe it’s kind of like the post on reality. Maybe it has too many faces. Maybe we are just too busy being human. One day I hope to be able to ask the Maker, “when you look down, what do you think?”. I hope He does so with a good dose of humor. We must be quite a sight.

Thanks for lending me your ear !

One thought on “Towing The Party Line

  1. “YOU CAN BOMB THE WORLD INTO PIECES, BUT YOU CAN’T BOMB THE WORLD INTO PEACE”
    MICHAEL FRANTI AND SPEARHEAD
    THERE’S A LOT OF INTERESTING MUSIC AND LYRICS OUT THERE, IF WE ONLY TAKE THE TIME TO LISTEN.
    THANKS

Leave a Reply

