God and Hate, or God and Love !

Perhaps it’s a misguided, utopian view of God that I hold, but when I think of the purest form of love, God, I have a hard time finding a place for the word “hate”. I’m told that God commands us to love. If we begin with hate, then there really isn’t any place to go from there, but if we begin with love, then a plethora of opportunities will be shown to us.

I guess for me personally, I’m just not so sure that I have all the answers. That there isn’t room for conversation. The whole God as a father image has always been a little weird for me, but if we do look at it that way for sake of conversation, then it changes everything. I couldn’t imagine my children doing anything that would make me hate them. I can deal with disappointment, frustration, and sadness. But hate, I just don’t see anything ever separating my love, for them and me.

I don’t see how a bridge could ever be built or understanding accomplished if I began and stayed in hate. So for people to speak for God and say that God “hates” certain behaviors, well I just don’t feel right about it. I doesn’t resonate in my soul as something that is of God.

I may be part of the problem here by giving the folks that espouse these views more spotlight. I think the media makes us feel like this kind of thinking is rampant, but that just brings everyone’s nerves to a boiling point. These folks are not a representative of the larger Christian community, that are trying to have an open, honest, redemptive walk with their Creator.

So what do you think? How do hearts like those ever soften? Does it ever flesh out in their own lives, where they are forced to lay down a sword and pick up a pillow for a dying relative? Please share your thoughts and insights, because we are all in this together, and we are all brothers and sisters trying to find our way.

9 thoughts on “God and Hate, or God and Love !

  1. I don’t see how a bridge could ever be built or understanding accomplished if I began and stayed in hate. So for people to speak for God and say that God “hates” certain behaviors, well I just don’t feel right about it. I doesn’t resonate in my soul as something that is of God.

    I agree 1000%, Glenn. I’m afraid many are confusing being “socially conservative” with following Christ’s teachings.

  2. I don’t know what this says about me, but I HATE the way that our loving Creator is so often misrepresented, especially by the folks of Westboro Baptist Church and the like. It sure seems easier to love those that are misguided rather than those that misrepresent-I am going to have to think about that for a while. Thanks for the thoughts Glenn.

    • lol. yeah I’m thinking if the word “hate” is in there, it’s wrong. there are other words to use in reference of disliking something. To me, hate, brings no conversation. No dialog. No bridges, and for sure, no love !

  3. Yeah, thanks for talking me off the ledge there, Glenn, that certainly is the higher road, but on my worse days, still…….

  4. I guess where I disagree with you is where you said that you can’t believe God hates certain behaviors. God does hate the behavior/sin because our sin or behaviors that go against his principles and standards for us destroy us…the children who he created and loves.

    And the behaviors that he hates include “hate” and “homosexuality”. Because both of these lead our souls away from God.

    If my son or daughter’s behaviors include either of these two things then I still love them but I hate what they are doing because it destroys their life. Hence, it’s my job to discipline them because I love them so much that I don’t want them to destroy their soul or have their sin ruin the complete and full life that I desire for them. Just as God disciplines those he loves to save them from their own destruction.

  5. Thanks for great insight Jan. That’s the thing about words, we need them to convey thoughts and at the same time they can never totally convey a true meaning. Maybe we shouldn’t use words to convey the big questions. I don’t know. Just that one word “hate” affects everyone so different, as they cycle it through their own personal lens of life and spirituality. We use the word so freely from “hating sinfulness” to “hating broccoli”.

    For me. For my lens, anytime that word begins a conversation, I feel like it’s gonna be a short road. As for the biblical text, and I’m no scholar, not even a fair reader, but I’d be interested in Paul’s angle. Was he speaking of his opinion, opinions of the day and culture or was he speaking for God. God inspired? There sure is alot in those texts that would pretty much keep most of the folks I know out of “heaven” !

    At the same time I don’t want to use mercy and redemption as a freeway to live anyway I see fit. My mind on these things is always a work in progress, always shaping. Words like yours are crucial, and your spirit has been a wonderful light and example to me, for a long time.

Leave a Reply

