Would They Love Him Down In Shreveport Today ?

I’ve been in a few conversations in the last week or so, where the old saying “why are there more people that don’t claim to be Christian and act in the image of Christ than those that claim to be Christian and don’t act like it”. That’s been going on forever and when I look at my life I am as guilty as the next person. Things I aspouse not to do, I end up doing. It’s in thought as well as word or deed. Today’s message ended up with a reminder for us to “love with His hands and see with His eyes”, to not laugh at the joke you know isn’t right,and to be intentional about your faith or following of those words written in red. Whatever your choice of faith, I would think it would call you to be better everyday, to listen deeper, open your heart wider, and understand we are all trying to navigate the best we can. To build a bridge and not a wall, to pocket a stone, not throw it.

Many moons ago, the Oak Ridge Boys had a hit on one of my favorite songs. Written by fellow Floridian Bobby Braddock, “Would they Love Him Down In Shreveport Today” speaks to this perfectly. Have we built the image of Christ so much after ourselves that we wouldn’t recognize him if he came walking down the street? I’ll leave you with that great lyric. Happy Easter Brothers and Sisters !

If they saw Him riding in, long hair flying in the wind,
Would they love Him down in Shreveport today?
If they heard He was a Jew and a Palestinian too,
Would they love Him down in Nashville today?

If they saw Him talk with ease to the junkies, whores, and thieves,
Would they love Him out in Wichita today?
Would the rich men think it funny if He said give up your money?
Would they love Him up on Wall Street today?

If He made the wine from water, gave it to their sons and daughters,
What would the folks in Salt Lake City say?
If He talked of brotherhood as he walked their neighborhoods,
Would they love Him up in Boston today?

If He said love those who use you, and forgive those who abuse you,
If He turned the other cheek, what would you say?
Would you laugh and call Him crazy, and just send Him on his way,
If Jesus came to your town today?…

 

 

3 thoughts on “Would They Love Him Down In Shreveport Today ?

  1. Glenn, thanks for this. I had forgotten all about this wonderful song. I have always said you have to really watch out for religion. More times than not, they get it terribly wrong. Probably start out with hearts in the right place, but it’s easy to get caught up in side agendas, and foget the essence of the whole message and mission of Jesus. Which was love. Love one another. Feed my sheep. Bear one another’s burdens.
    He told the Pharisees they were missing the point, they were hung up on religion, and failing to love.
    I’m a big mess, I fall short every day, I make decisions that are desperately lacking in wisdom, but I know this much. He would still hang out with me. I know it because, well, he does. He’s a push-over for sinners, just can’t turn his back on us. His song for us might be “I Can’t Stop Loving You”.
    The least we can do is love one another.

Leave a Reply

