Three Legged Dog: A Story of Thankfulness

Image

Some of you may know this story. For those of you that don’t, I will share the impetus behind the Three Legged Dog. I have a Blue Healer / Catahoula mix named Josey. When he was about 5 years old he got hit on the street in front of our house. Having never been through something like that I was beyond freaked out. Once the doctors assured me that he had no internal injuries, they said I’d be amazed at how fast he’d recover and would live a full life on just three legs.

Image

Josey’s recovery was quick. Mine however took a little longer. With all of the usual guilt and sadness for him, secretly wondering if his life quality would suffer, I soon realized it was me who needed healing and teaching. Josey is our store dog and travels to and from work with me each day. His main goal is to be pet by as many customers as possible. I thought he’d be ashamed of his” new look”. I learned quickly he wasn’t ashamed at all and the one secretly harbouring the insecurities was me. In the course of time, Josey taught me and our family about thankfulness. About being thankful for what you have, not what you wish you had, or worse yet, what you think you deserve. He didn’t suffer from any vanity or ego issues, but I did. For years now he has shared in his own way how greatful I should be everyday for life.

Image

Our little company is called Three Legged Dog and every piece is made with that spirit of thankfulness. Our trademark Three Legged Dog image is on each piece. It’s a good reminder for me and I hope anyone else that wears a Three Legged Dog piece. We all have much to be thankful for, wouldn’t you agree?

Image

Pictured above is “spirit face”. The one above that is “journey” and the line markings symbolize two people walkng thru life together, through the four stages, represented by the four dots. Josey of course is pictured and the top picture is “back to the land”. The ones shown have sand from my personal touchstone, Pensacola Beach. The one on the left has sand from Haiti where our daughter recently returned from a mission trip. You can send sand from your own touchstone and we will incorporate it into a necklace for you. We can be found on Facebook at Three Legged Dogg.

Image

Leave a Reply

