Local Tourist

20140627_203417[1]
With a few stops along the way, I have lived in three places in my life. All tourist towns. I grew up in and my home is Pensacola Florida. I lived for a few years during high school in Saratoga Springs, NY and for the past 16 years I’ve lived in Nashville TN. So I have always hoped to never be a tourist and still don’t. I’ve always been drawn to being a traveler but never a tourist.
20140627_202607[1]
Recently my wife and I went out to eat and decided to ride downtown just to see first hand the explosion of Nashville. We see the growth in other ways and my job reminds me often how many folks are moving to Nashville, but to see downtown was amazing. A friend is a pedi cab driver and he toured us around to places we’d heard of but hadn’t seen. The new Hatch show building, the mega huge convention center, the cool vibe of the Pinewood Social Club, where you can drink, eat and yes bowl a few games in a very hip atmosphere.
20140627_203252[2]
This town has so much energy and cool things going for it, no wonder it’s projected to double in size in twenty years. I really think it is the jewel of the South as far as major cities. I say all of this to simply say this; if you don’t get out wherever you live, you should. You have no idea what is going on out there while your home watching Game of Thrones! This generation of young minds is doing some pretty cool stuff and designing and shaping a life totally unique.
20140627_203957[1]
20140627_202920[1]
So if you find yourself in a rut like we have been, then take it from me, sometimes the best entertainment is to just get out of the house. There’s more to this story but the main thing is,cruise around your town, stop in someplace new, see your world from a little different angle. It feels good !

3 thoughts on “Local Tourist

  1. Reblogged this on Dolphin and commented:
    A few years ago, when there was terrible flooding in Nashville, the coverage by the major networks was nearly absent. You don’t suppose it had anything to do with Nashville being a progressive city in the South? Nah….they wouldn’t practically ignore flooding because of it goes against their owners’ worldview, would they…? /just a little snarky

  2. Hola, Mr. Glenn! Just returned from a great trip down the Blues Highway to the Crossroads in Clarksdale, Mississippi.

Leave a Reply

